Disclaimer:
I’m not a film critic; just a movie goer sharing a few thoughts without
spoiling it (I hope). :)
Rogue
One: A Star Wars Story
Wow,
what an awesome kick off to the Standalone Star Wars movies! In my personal,
little humble opinion, the tone of this film is closer to A New Hope than
Revenge of the Sith based on the timeline. If I had to rate this film along with the other Star Wars films, this one ranks underneath The Empire Strikes Back! (Yes, I'm a big Star Wars fan.) 😊
The plot was on point despite the slow pace in
the 1st act. But the action picked up lovely as soon as the gang
landed in Jedha and beyond. *pew pew*
The new characters (good and bad guys) are
excellent but it’s all I’ll say about them: Cassian, Saw Gerrera, Bodhi,
Director Krennic, Galen, and K-2SO. Okay, I really loved K-2SO, lol! He is a
hilarious, wise-cracking droid and a bit of a badass too; definitely set the
comedic tone when needed perfectly. Also, it’s always an honor seeing Mon
Mothma, a true rebellious soul in her own right.
Lastly Jyn, the true heroine fighting for
survival and redemption for herself and others. Her purpose of stealing the
Death Star plans is much deeper than one may realize and that's all I will say
on that.
And last but NEVER least, Darth Vader is simply
the badass villain of all time. His appearance made me love him even more. Just
sayin’.😄
A true must-see Star Wars gem!